Hull Literature Festival 2004 
 the humber mouth  19th June - 4th July 2004

Home | Introduction | Programme | Critic | Bulletin | Special Commissions | Archive | Hull City Arts | Hull Libraries | E-Mail

 

Programme

Preview Events
Saturday 19th June
Sunday 20th June
Monday 21st June
Tuesday 22nd June
Wednesday 23rd June
Thursday 24th June
Friday 25th June
Saturday 26th June
Sunday 27th June
Monday 28th June
Tuesday 29th June
Wednesday 30th June
Thursday 1st July
Friday 2nd July
Saturday 3rd July
Sunday 4th July

Exhibitions & other Projects

 

{PreviewEvents}

Sunday 4th July - 7.00pm Midnight
The Lamp, Norfolk St

Independence Day
New York and Kurdistan

FREE

The concert will bring together American and Kurdish artists to celebrate living together in harmony, and the hope of a peaceful future for everyone Lou Duffy-Howard, organiser.

New York based Anti-war singer songwriter William Nowik will travel to Hull to perform on the last night of the festival with internationally acclaimed Kurdish band Gul Naz.

William Nowik is an author, performer, musician, songwriter, artist, storyteller, journalist, teacher, Zen trickster, Buddhist monk-in-training and Dhama bum. Spending his life for the most part unplugged from mainstream society, he recreates his stories of life in the underground with multi-media work.

The founder members of Gul Naz first met three years ago in an English immigration office after travelling 6000 miles to escape the regime of Sadam Hussein. Since then, they have gained a strong reputation for delivering traditional and contemporary Kurdish dance music to audiences across the country.


General Enquiries:
City Information Service
at Hull Central Library
Tel: 01482 223344
E-mail: [email protected]

Hull City Arts

  hull